Posted by: azizabusarah | January 4, 2011

My brother’s kippa: a Palestinian’s entry to his hometown

the excerpt below is taking from on +972 about my experience going into H2 in Hebron where Palestinians not allowed to enter.

As we approached Shuhada Street I was thinking of a way to stay with the group. I wanted to show them Abu Seneineh neighborhood, where my ancestors came from before moving to Jerusalem 80 years ago.  I wanted them to see my aunt’s house and share with them my childhood memories about Hebron. So, I found myself devising a plan that would allow me to pass through without raising the soldiers’ suspicions.

Before arriving to the street, I asked Brant, the congregations’ rabbi, for his “kippah” (skullcap). I put it on my head and walked straight up to the Israeli soldier at the entrance of the street. I told him (in Hebrew) that I have a  Jewish group touring from Chicago that wants to walk through. He only had one question: “do you have any Arabs with you?”  I answered confidently, “No, they are all Jews,” and that was all we needed to get inside the “Jewish area.”

I was amazed by what a kippah could do. Suddenly, I was not suspicious and was transformed for the soldiers from an enemy to a friend.  The kippah became my entry visa, my access papers. I felt like it was my “shibboleth” into an elite club and the kippah was like the card I swipe to get in.

To Read the article click here


Responses

  1. תודה על המידע! ממש מחדל מחריד. אני לבטח אמסור את הסיפור הזה לקצונה כדי שיתגברו את הנוהלים הביטחוניים בחברון.


Leave a Reply

Categories

